Sunday, July 21, 2024

Belleville hosts inaugural accessibility excellence awards ceremony recognizing local champions

City of Belleville photo

The City of Belleville hosted its inaugural Accessibility Excellence Awards Ceremony Sunday at the Habitat for Humanity Restore, coinciding with International Persons with Disabilities Day. Mayor Neil Ellis, members of city council, the city’s Accessibility Advisory Committee and the public convened for this milestone event.

Mayor Neil Ellis and Committee Chair Councillor Barbara Enright-Miller presided over the ceremony, honouring three winners and recognizing five honourable mentions for this year’s awards:

  • Habitat for Humanity – Not-for-Profit Award Winner
  • Bayview Mall – Commercial Award Winner
  • Lisa Chesher – Individual Award Winner
  • Hastings Resource Centre – Honourable Mention
  • Loyalist Veterinary Hospital – Honourable Mention
  • Peter Matwyuk – Honourable Mention
  • Belleville Public Library – Honourable Mention
  • Trenval Business Development Corporation – Honourable Mention

The Accessibility Excellence Awards seek to acknowledge and spotlight businesses, groups, organizations, and individuals demonstrating exceptional commitment to advocating for and providing accessibility in Belleville. Nominations, solicited from May to November, centred on various categories: Built Environment, Customer Service, Education, Employment, and Information and Communication.

Mayor Neil Ellis extended congratulations to the award recipients and lauded the efforts of the Accessibility Advisory Committee, emphasizing the city’s ongoing commitment to inclusivity. He highlighted the significance of initiatives like these, which spotlight the commendable work already underway in the community.

Councillor Barbara Enright-Miller, chair of the Accessibility Advisory Committee, underscored the purpose of these awards to honor those dedicated to advancing accessibility and fostering an inclusive environment. She commended this year’s winners for their embodiment of a thoughtful and inclusive community, expressing gratitude to all participants in the nomination process and extending a special acknowledgment to the award winners and honourable mentions.

Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content from this page, please share the link instead!